Dún Laoghaire and Howth

I came to the conclusion that the bus system in Dublin is the worst I have seen so far: it’s expensive, if you don’t have a leap card (get one if you stay for some days), you need the correct change in coins, most of the time you don’t know when to get off, and there are no serious night busses. Nevertheless, I am interested in moving to one of the suburban areas of Dublin.
After viewing the room yesterday, I strolled around the nearby harbour in Dún Laoghaire. It was beautiful and I got excited in living close to the seaside.

After that I went to my new university, the UCD (University College Dublin). It is a huge campus area which looks quite modern and has a lot of green areas and some lakes. I look forward to studying there.

Today I decided to visit Howth which is a peninsula in the north of Dublin. Thank you Elin for the recommendation! Although it wasn’t as sunny as yesterday, it was less windy and thus not as freezing as usual.
I got off the bus in a small fishing village and strolled about the pier. It was crowded with tourist from mainly France, Spain, and Germany.

I hiked around the cliffs and got stunning views on Dublin and the Irish sea. I should have used more proper shoes though since the path was muddy and hence slippery which can be quite dangerous so close to the cliffs.

After two hours of hiking I rewarded myself with delicious fish and chips.

Leave a Reply

